Hartpury’s Rugby Programme began in September 2000 in partnership with local Aviva Premiership side Gloucester Rugby and, since then, has gone from strength to strength. Hartpury employs depth and experience in the coaching and leadership of the programme, producing excellent results year on year. Players also benefit from a dedicated team of non-coaching rugby staff, including professional fitness and conditioning support personnel and physiotherapists who oversee the outstanding fitness training and testing facilities and provide a wide range of strength and conditioning support.

The strong relationship between Hartpury University and College and Gloucester Rugby Club has also led to the development of the Advanced Apprenticeship in Sporting Excellence (AASE) scheme on behalf of the RFU. The College AASE mens team won the league every year since it’s inception in 2009, before finally missing out in 2016.  The record was set straight in 2017-18 and 2018-19, however, as Hartpury clinched their eighth and ninth AASE titles in ten seasons.   The 2017-18 and 18-19 season also saw the squad appear at the World Schools Festival in South Africa.  You can see historic league tables and results here.

Hartpury has also been strong in university rugby over recent seasons.  The BUCS (then BUSA) Championship was first won in 2007 and, since then, success has come regularly, culminating in victory in the inaugural BUCS Super Rugby competition in 2016-17.   Hartpury then repeated their Twickenham victories in both 2018 and 2019, meaning that the institution has been university play-off champions in eight of the past 13 campaigns.

Hartpury University RFC, now a semi-professional side still featuring a large number of student players and alumni, has made impressive progress through the English rugby pyramid since entry, at the bottom level, in 2004.  In the season 2013-14, the club advanced into National League 1, where performances were encouraging  – 5th place in the debut season was followed up by reaching the runners-up spot in 2015-16.

The season 2016-17 saw Hartpury University RFC make history, not only being promoted as champions but also remaining unbeaten throughout the entire league season – a feat never before performed at this level.

Hartpury University RFC spent their debut season Greene King IPA Championship proving themselves to be more than worthy of participation at this level, with some notable scalps collected along with some very narrow defeats.

The 2018-19 season  proved to be extremely challenging. A decent start was followed by a long win-less spell, from October through to February, which saw the Red & Blacks adrift at the foot of the table.  However, a strong finish to the campaign, which saw the side win five of their final seven matches, was just enough to ensure Championship participation for a further year.  2019-20 was more promising, in terms of performances if not results, however the season did not conclude due to the arrival of Covid-19.


2018/19Under 18 AASE League Champions
BUCS Super Rugby Champions
2017/18Under 18 AASE League Champions
BUCS Super Rugby Champions
2016/17RFU National League 1 Champions
BUCS Super Rugby Champions
2015/16Under-18s AASE League Champions
Under-18s AASE Sevens
2014/15Under-18s AASE League Champions
BUCS Rugby Sevens Champions
2013/14Under-18s AASE League National Champions
1st XV Bucs British Universities & Colleges Champions
RFU National Leagues 2 South Champions
1st xv British Universities and Colleges TEAM OF THE YEAR
2012/13Under 18 AASE League National Champions.
1st XV British Universities and Colleges (BUCS) Champions;
Under 18 AASE League National Champions.
2010/11RFU National League 3 South Champions
Under 18 AASE League National Champions
2009/10RFU Level Six Champions Cup winners
Tribute South West 1 West League Champions
Under 18 AASE League National Champions
2008/091st XV British Universities and Colleges (BUCS) Champions for the third year in succession
EDF Intermediate Cup Champions
Western Counties North League Winners
BBC West Sports Team of the Year
2007/081st XV British Universities (BUSA) Champions for the second consecutive year
EDF Senior Vase Champions
Gloucester Premier League Winners
2006/071st XV British Universities (BUSA) Champions
EDF Junior Vase Champions
Gloucester 1 League Winners
2005/06BUSA Rugby Premier Men’s South A League Winners
Gloucester 2 League Winners
2004/05BUSA Rugby Premier Men’s South A League Winners
Gloucester 3 North League Winners

Comments are closed