Hartpury name squad for Ealing Trailfinders challenge

Hartpury have named their squad for Sunday’s challenging trip to unbeaten Ealing Trailfinders.

Club co-captain Luke Stratford sustained a jaw fracture in the opening game versus Richmond and is the most notable absentee from a squad that is otherwise in good physical shape after three matches of the Greene King IPA Championship season.

Wil Partington, who had a good game in the last outing, against Doncaster, is rewarded with another start at full-back, while former Trailfinder George Simpson returns to the side – on the wing – after being an un-used replacement last week.

Otherwise, the back division remains unchanged, although there is movement on the bench.  Opting for a 5/3 split this week means that there is space for the return of flyer Jack Johnson, now recovered from his opening day head injury – plus the reliable presence of former Bristol and Falcons centre, Luke Eves.  Calum Waters remains as the scrum-half option.

The pack shows three changes from last week.  Olly Adkins, an age-group international and a product of the Hartpury pathway, now on dual registration from Gloucester Rugby, steps up into the starting line-up at loose head.  His club colleague, Josh Gray, is also named to make his first start for Hartpury in the back row after two appearances as a replacement.

The exciting news is that England U20 squad member and current Hartpury College agriculture student, Arthur Clark, will get a chance to build on the very positive impression he created during an energetic and effective 25-minute debut versus the Knights last week.  He is named in the starting pack.

His partner in the second row will be Dale Lemon, again skippering the side after some excellent performances so far this season.

The replacements show some fresh faces as former England age-group prop, Lewis Holsey, and back-row forward, Morgan Monks, are both in line for club debuts after joining on dual-registration from the Worcester Warriors.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.