Hartpury name squad for Rosslyn Park fixture

Hartpury RFC have named a strong squad for this weekend’s pre-season fixture with Rosslyn Park.

Although very slightly trimmed down from the group that went to Worcester Warriors last weekend, there are still 31 players named and the majority will get some involvement in the game.

Missing from last week’s starting XV are lock BJ Edwards, who picked up a minor ankle strain at Sixways, and centre Steve Leonard who is unavailable for selection.

James Williams, who made an encouraging start for the club as a replacement 10 last week, starts at inside centre against Park, with Luke Eves shuffling into the wider channel.  Meanwhile Harry Cochrane moves to the wing, meaning that England U20 scrum half Harry Randall will make his first start of this pre-season at 9.

In the pack, another ‘veteran’ of the recent U20 World Championships, Alex Craig of Scotland, slots in to replace Edwards in an otherwise unchanged front five.  Behind them, former Bristol skipper Iain Grieve make his first start in the back row, with Mat Gilbert – very good at Worcester – rotating to the bench.

The remainder of the replacements are players that were involved at Warriors, with two exceptions.  Des Merrey returns after recovering from a strain whilst yet another member of the England U20 squad, prop forward Alex Seville is in line for his first taste of RFC rugby having previously played in our successful AASE set-up.

The full line-up is:

Backs: 15. Mike Wilcox, 14. Harry Cochrane, 13. Luke Eves, 12. James Williams, 11. Ed Sheldon, 10. Jacob Perry, 9. Harry Randall

Forwards: 1. Dan Murphy, 2. Will Tanner, 3. Rupert Harden, 4. Rhys Oakley (Captain), 5. Alex Craig, 6. Iain Grieve, 7. Rob Langley, 8. Darrell Dyer

Replacements: Forwards: Des Merrey, Alex Seville, Luke Stratford, Will Crane, Tom Heard, Alex Gibson, Joe Quinn, Joe Dancer, Mat Gilbert, Tom Pashley.  Backs: Charlie Chapman, George Boulton, James Forrester, Alex Ducker, Elias Caven, Sam Leeming


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.