Sheldon unlucky to miss out as Hartpury name squad for historic opener

Ed Sheldon, who pulled a hamstring in the closing seconds of last Friday’s exciting encounter at Kingsholm after scoring a fine try earlier in the game, will miss this Sunday’s season opener at Bristol Rugby, but otherwise Director of Rugby, John Barnes, and Head Coach, Mark Cornwell, are able to pick from a full deck.

Club Captain, Rhys Oakley, centre Luke Eves, former Bristol skipper Iain Grieve, lock BJ Edwards and winger Elias Caven will all be appearing against their former club, demonstrating the depth and extent of the ties between the two clubs.

The 22-man squad also features six players (Murphy, Harden, Edwards, Dyer, Grieve and Williams) who will be making their league debuts for the club.  Rob Langley and Tom Heard, both return after spending a number of seasons playing away from the club.  Good luck to all twenty-two lads on duty this week…

The full selection is as follows:

  1. Dan Murphy
  2. Will Tanner
  3. Rupert Harden
  4. BJ Edwards
  5. Rhys Oakley ©
  6. Rob Langley
  7. Mat Gilbert
  8. Darrel Dyer
  9. Harry Randall
  10. Jacob Perry
  11. Elias Caven
  12. Luke Eves
  13. Steve Leonard
  14. Harry Cochrane
  15. Mike Wilcox
  16. Luke Stratford
  17. Mike Flook
  18. Tom Heard
  19. Alex Craig
  20. Iain Grieve
  21. James Williams
  22. George Boulton

The match kicks off at 3pm on Sunday, 3rd September.   The boys would love your support and encouragement at Ashton Gate, although if you are unable to get there the game will be televised live on Sky Sports Action (coverage starts at 2.45pm).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.